Assignment Two

Developing and Understanding Photographic Practice

The photographer that was chosen for me was Stephen Shore. I was fine with this as I had been researching into the Topographic movement the week before so I knew some of the leading figures and also some of Shores work. However, I was first up presenting, which was highly, nerve wracking to me but it was nice to get it out of the way!

Screen Shot 2014-11-17 at 16.29.05

I decided to be brave with my presentation and have a slideshow of his book that I was talking about and then talk about my theme. I was the only one to do this out of my class and I felt like it worked in my favour as everyone was listening to me rather then reading off the board, and it also gave me a lot of future confidence. The theme that I went with is comparing his first edition with his second edition of his book from the project ‘Uncommon Places’. By the end of it all I began to get really interested into it and it makes me think about undertaking a ‘proto-instagram’ style of photography. I’m happy with the amount of research I went into as I felt I really knew what I was talking about and that meant I didn’t have to rely on my notes when presenting.Screen Shot 2014-11-17 at 16.43.47Screen Shot 2014-11-17 at 16.44.04

My feedback from my tutor was good. He mentioned the things that I felt it also lacked afterwards. The two main things that I definitely would change are showing the second edition at the same time (the library didn’t have this specific book and I struggled to find it, even though this was my original plan to have them side by side) and showing the artist link that I talked about in comparison to Shore. I did want to originally include it but I felt like it didn’t flow within my presentation and I was scared that I would be talking too fast or too slow so I wouldn’t be in time for the new set of slides. But apart from that I’m really pleased with how my first assignment went and the positive feedback I got from my assessor, hopefully I can learn from my mistakes and continue in this manner for the rest of the year!

Leave a Reply

