Assignment One- Final Piece

Developing and Understanding Photographic Practice

Overall my final pieces have turned out a lot better than I thought they would do. I feel like the humour of the contradictions that I have found of the BNP really pay off and create an interesting piece, so I just hope that others understand my irony and sarcasm.

The flyer for me is my favourite piece that I had created, just because it was so out there and really questions politics and the country that we live in. I was really worried when creating this piece that it wouldn’t be counted as a photographic piece, as it isn’t the typical image in a frame, but learning about the Chapman brothers and Duchamp has really opened by mind to art, expressionism and creativity. I think personally it would have looked more effective in colour, but however, my prints were analogue therefore I feel like I chose the best decision I could have for the piece. I also think the purposefully bad printing is a bit hit and miss, as I was worried because my photographs have always been visually good, but this time I had to create “bad” images and really emphasise that, and it was a strange process to get my head around as I had always been taught images have to be perfect, beautiful and crisp. This piece was constructed using the help of the research that I undertook, looking at propaganda, BNP leaflets, food catalogues and advertisement details like the small print. Hopefully my audience of artists and political interested people believe the flyer and then understand my opinions, overall creating their own thoughts on the matter. I think it would be a really good piece to have given out to my audience when they are viewing the two other pieces, almost like a programme.

I also like my onion piece that I created. My whole project began with me questioning my Britishness, and to this day I still am undecided. It was important to me to ask my audience “Are you British?” as it is a direct question and typical of the society we live in today, however it’s a theory not a policy and I feel like we need to understand and learn this within this culture, and have the choice whether or not to define ourselves. I also like the interaction that the viewer has with the piece as I learned, and get more enthusiasm, when I can really get into a piece. I think it would work well as a starting point to lead to the other pieces, just to get the viewer thinking.

The final piece that I create was my book. I spent a lot of time perfecting the layout on InDesign and also constructing the book together. I would have loved to get it printed somewhere so it had a perfect finish, however time was precious and I decided that printing the perfect image was more important to me then getting the book made professionally. I also like the serious feel that comes with this piece, as the writing is very small and formal, and I want to viewer to believe me, almost like I am the one creating my own propaganda. I think the quote that I found on the British National Party’s website makes this piece stand out as you learn fundamentally about the parties real intentions.

Overall, I’m happy with the outcome of my pieces that I created during the little time I left myself. This is the one big regret I have with this project; I focused myself way too much on my second presentation assignment and left myself with little time to get fully into this assignment. I think if I had given myself more time I could have then got the smaller details done that I wanted, such as the book being professionally printed. I feel that the research side that I did was really strong as I put a lot of effort into and surprisingly found the political side highly of interest, which I couldn’t believe as I have never really thought about the government and the society which I live in. Which is hopefully the same mentality that my viewers have and then their eyes are opened up to questioning the country’s values and norms that we have. I have really gotten back into my interest of the darkroom and I feel like this will benefit me later on. I also have learnt what art really means, and to really question the boundaries of it and not just take “pretty” images. I’m excited to see how others react to my pieces, and to start my next assignment!

Screen Shot 2014-11-28 at 15.09.23Screen Shot 2014-11-28 at 15.09.16Screen Shot 2014-11-28 at 15.10.04

Screen Shot 2014-11-28 at 15.09.57Screen Shot 2014-11-28 at 15.09.29Screen Shot 2014-11-28 at 15.10.10

Screen Shot 2014-11-28 at 15.09.42Screen Shot 2014-11-28 at 15.09.35

Leave a Reply

