Creative Digital Practice- first shoot- Hope to Castleton

Creative Digital Practice

Day one of my travels. It didn’t go to bad actually, I spent last night worrying that I was going to get kidnapped or something horrific as I was in a place that I didn’t particularly know well, by myself. Lets just say I was scared. But I had no real reason why I should have been. I saw the most beautiful landscapes and surprisingly I enjoyed taking photographs, and enjoyed being alone and forgetting about my mac and my phone.

I was mainly drawn to agricultural aspects, such as farms and their equipment, but I also liked trying to photograph beautiful streams and gigantic, green hills. I’m not saying I was the best at it, I definitely need some technical advice but overall it was better than I expected. I feel like I did the right amount of planning of the route as I roughly knew where I was going for safety reasons but I also was free to roam and I went to farms and landscapes that I would have never had found if I didn’t explore.

The walkers themselves shocked me, these being around fifty or older, dressed in fleece and a navy coloured ‘uniform’. In the small village that I’m from we all say hello or the weathers looking hopeful or some other meaningless comment, but with these people they were completely serious and stern. If we were passing by each other I would say thank you or I’d let them through first, but these walkers are blank. However, I did start a conversation to a chicken about the weather, only to realise the farmer was looking at me like I was some crazy lady with a big-lensed camera. I also liked the other animals, and I definitely want to start recording some sounds that I could hear, either of the birds going wild or the gentle stream of the water, as it all enhanced my expected experience of walking.

I was disappointed to see that the castle I was planning to walk up to was shut due to the weather, I will certainty be going back up there and capturing the unbelievable scenes. I also need to remember to take a hat and gloves; because if I’m honest I’m surprised I’m even managing to type this. The weather was a difficult aspect of my shoot, it started out foggy, which was good but then suddenly started raining really heavily. I did check the weather pre-shoot, but obviously these things just happen. The train rides also took up a lot of time and so I didn’t get as much time as I would have liked to shoot, so I need to take that into consideration next time.

But I’m relived to have completed my first shoot and it showed me that it wasn’t scary or difficult in any way, and so I’m excited to shoot more!

Good points

-First shoot done- revilement

-Hopefully have one or two good shots

-Trains gave me inspiration of where to go next e.g. Grindle national peak park

-Showed me how far and isolated I can get

-Showed me how up close I can get to farmers

Bad points

-Want to learn how to create “better” long distance landscape images

-Not sure the Nikon worked for me

-Weather

-Didn’t get chance to create film

Things to do next time

-Work with film

-Use a more manual camera

-Wear layers, gloves and wellies

Screen Shot 2015-01-29 at 19.03.07 Screen Shot 2015-01-29 at 19.03.31 Screen Shot 2015-01-29 at 19.03.22 Screen Shot 2015-01-29 at 19.03.58 Screen Shot 2015-01-29 at 19.07.29 Screen Shot 2015-01-29 at 19.07.21

Leave a Reply

