Creative Digital Practice- Edale film

Creative Digital Practice

As well as experimenting with using different digital cameras, such as the Nikon D700 and Cannon 5D, I am also enthusiastic to use film in an analogue camera, Pentax 1000.

The specific film that I have used is the Fuji colour film with an ISO of 200. I love working with film and this was slightly out of date which adds to the anticipation of getting processed even more! Because it had a low exposure it meant my images have a very dull and 70’s feel, with a slight grain to them, and I love that because it reminds me of the images I’ve seen in the walking books that I’ve been investigating it too. However, it’s probably not the look I’d like to go for the most, as I want a low contrast, soft aesthetic look. I was surprised how well they turned out focus wise, as it was only a short lens that I used, but the images, even the long distance landscape imagery came out surprisingly well.

I also felt like I took the images differently to the way I would have done if I was to use digital. Because I couldn’t see what they looked like on the screen, I concentrated more on walking and the process of walking, and this way of combining both walking and photographing successfully that I would definitely want to continue with when I’m using digital.

Because these were film and this brief was all about digital, I’ve scanned them in to make them acceptable. I’m really glad I’ve tried film and have continued to love it, but I feel like digital photography suits my project in the way I visualise it, but I could still continue to work with these images and include them in my final piece.

Screen Shot 2015-02-27 at 10.52.20 Screen Shot 2015-02-27 at 10.52.11

Leave a Reply

