Creative Digital Practice- Jacobs Ladder

Creative Digital Practice

I found this shoot the most easiest yet the hardest walk that I have done so far. I took the right amount of things; as well as extra sugary snacks as I knew today would be the furthest I had walked to date. I wore layers upon layers of clothing, but yet the weather was unbelievably bad. I thought the heavy snow was terrible, but todays was even worse. The official weather report said light rain, but it was heavy rain as well as harsh winds, particularly when I had reached a high point in my route. However, even though I was beginning to resemble a drown rat, my enthusiasm did not dip, I was positive and it kept me going and walking at a reasonable pace, I feel like I am starting to become a walker!

I really wanted to walk to Jacobs ladder on my last walk from Edale, however I had no idea how to get to the Pennine way (which would take me straight the way there) as I couldn’t find any signposts, and in the end I was happy just looking around, exploring and mostly just getting lost. However, this time I was armed with a map. I’ve always hated the idea of being restricted, you only have one place to go and that’s all you think about. Whereas in my previous shoots I was happy to discover and see where I could take myself. But it turns out, after using a map; it has both its positives and negatives. I managed to make it to Jacobs ladder this time, which gave me an unbelievable high, as well as making it an exciting adventure. I was going somewhere, which I had to follow a map for and there was a sense of a real purpose. At times during the day I put my map in my bag and wandered. I didn’t always have to have it, but it was there when I needed it, an aid to my walk. I now understand the gratitude towards maps and there importance towards walkers.

I also felt like this was a real walk, my others have tired me out, but this one really pushed me. I had to walk at a constant speed to ensure I reach my destination point and make it in time for the train. I felt the effects particularly when I was walking up the ladder. I really loved the feeling, and even though my thighs are hating me right now, I cannot wait to do it all again.

The Pennine way in particular was a very different path compared to the others that I had walked previously, which had been tiny paths where I hadn’t seen anyone.

These were quite big paths that were obvious, by the stones laid down to make it more “Walker friendly”. It also meant that because it was a popular route, and even though it was on a rain and windy Thursday, I saw a lot more walkers. This was nice because people weren’t afraid to say hello. We mainly greeted each other by talking about the weather, and it was nice to feel part of a collective group, we’re all walking in bad conditions and we’ve all got destinations that were aiming for. I honestly felt like one of them, and it gave me some satisfaction.

The photography side to things with this shoot are, I personally think, becoming stronger. I am again taking less and less actual shots, meaning they are more thought out and appropriate towards my work. It was tricky to photograph the landscapes with fog as I had never done it before, but I think they turned out all right. I’m hoping that they are becoming more and more personal as we speak. Although I do feel that perhaps only I can see their importance, for example when I slipped over at the bottom of the ladder, you perhaps wont see that. And in a way I do like that because it is almost like a diary, but on the other hand I would like to show you more visually what happened.

I am becoming a little stressed with the deadline looming, as it is twenty days from today. But hopefully it will all fall it to place, and become a nice body of work. I’m happy with the work I am producing so far, and particularly with the research. I want to keep on experimenting with sound as well as continuing to make my photographs more personal.

Positive points

-More personal imagery produced

-Made it to Jacobs ladder YAY

-Starting to feel/understand a walker

Negative/ to do points

-Experiment more with sound

-Get an earlier train time so you don’t have to have your walking timed precisely

-Keep pushing myself for more personal images

Screen Shot 2015-02-20 at 17.13.30 Screen Shot 2015-02-20 at 17.13.37 Screen Shot 2015-02-20 at 17.13.45

I have also, throughout my walks, been keeping the snap chats that I have sent to my family and friends. I feel like this is important to show as these were never intended to be shown, and I find them hilarious, particularly how wind swept and red I look on most of them, but I think it shows my feelings and maybe this is the kind of personal level that I should be aiming for.

Screen Shot 2015-02-20 at 17.14.19

Leave a Reply

