Creative Digital Practice-Experimenting with text and position

Creative Digital Practice

So as I begin to look at experimentations for my final piece, I want to look more closely into text. I fell like having the text will hopefully make the connection between personal and walking stronger.

I have preciously been inspired by Shia Labeaouf’s tweets; he uses the definitions or adjectives of a word, without actually using the word itself. For example, “A small bubble-like elevation of the skin filled with serum” would be a blister. I find this a really interesting way of using text and being descriptive, as it is so interesting, yet so simple and direct.

Another idea I have is to use the co-ordinates of the places I have been, without using the location names. When I was researching into Paul Gaffney’s work he said that he had purposely chose not to include place names as he thought this would be to generic and the viewers would only feel connected to the image if they had been to that specific place. I however do want to show where I have been as I feel like this is a personal record of my walk and its something that has definitely interested me in the fact of knowing how far I’ve walked e.c.t., so I think having latitude points or co-ordinates is a really interesting way of doing things, and it shows me thinking like a “professional” walker.

I have previously looked at Sophie Calle’s work, when reviewing it for a book of the month project, and I think it would be wise to revisit what I talked about, specifically the text element. The typography that was used varied throughout the book. The front cover title was embrodid and then sewed on, showing dedication and care. Thought-out the book, the typography comes in different mediums. Firstly she uses cut outs of newspapers, or mostly importantly to me, the diary extracts she includes. This has given me some idea of how I will show mine, as I have been worried about how to include a messy scrap of paper with some writing on that’s shown in an effective manner. She also uses stamps and a classic word font to document her mother’s life. These are all interesting ways to record different pieces of information to create a successful piece of work.

sophie-calle-rachel-monique-1sophie-calle-rachel-monique-special-english-edition

Another photographer’s work that has really caught my eye for the way they use text is Taryn Simon. I’ve never really looked into her work before, but her front covers have caught my eye on numerous occasions. Take “An American Index Of The Hidden And Unfamiliar”, for example. Without even looking inside the book, the front cover is very serious, and almost reminds me of an explorer digging into this unrecognisable country. Its highly important, yet slightly exciting. Most photo books that are created today do not look anything like photo books. They look like recordings, documents or journals. Whatever the topic is that the photographer is exploring, they will fully embrace the theme, and I need to work on this so that it can become its full potential. Inside the book, the pages are laid out in an identical manner, highly neat and organized. The texts and photographs are on the same level of importance I personally think. However, within my own work I want my text to be of a lower importance towards my imagery.

The second book that I looked at of Simon’s is “Birds of the West Indies’. Once again the front cover is laid out in almost a 1930’s Bauhaus fashion. Minimalistic yet intreuiging. This book is so simplistic yet full of surprises. Simon uses a range of three different types of paper, the first is where she is talking about “That Black Hole”, the paper is delicate and lights, making the writing feel precious. The text is also very small and in a big block. Whereas, once you get into the middle of the book, the paper is black and much more thicker and less fragile. The text is much more closer to what I want to aspire too. There is only the top most of important information that is given. Less is more.

IMG_5235 IMG_5233

I’m excited to start experimenting with text within my own work after seeing some different examples now, and really getting a visual idea of what I think will work with my imagery into a book.

IMG_5237 IMG_5236  IMG_5270 IMG_5267

Leave a Reply

