Creative Digital Practice- Experimentation

Creative Digital Practice

As the deadline day comes closer and closer with each day, I am experimenting with final piece making and ideas.

I had previously talked about scanning the items that I found at these places with a scanner, but I have also just photographed them and I feel much more confident with them. I had researched various books that were based on plants, and contained diagrams, knowledge on each plant and, most importantly, the photographs of the plant. It was also interesting to see how the author had used typography with the image, and gave me further ideas. I feel like photographing the items rather than scanning them in, makes them more real as we can see tones and shadows, and I was worried that I would loose the smaller details of the items, but actually the camera has proven me otherwise. I’m really excited to see how these fit next to my images and turn my project into a reality experience.

The scanned research:

Scan 46 Scan 47

Some of my initial scanned images:

Screen Shot 2015-02-26 at 13.12.16 Screen Shot 2015-02-26 at 13.12.25 Screen Shot 2015-02-26 at 13.12.51

Some examples of my photographed imagery:

DSC_0119 DSC_0125 DSC_0151

I have also started to create some illustrations in ink of the types of birds that I either heard or saw, as well as some of the cattle I found like the black-headed sheep. To help me create some visions of what I wanted to create I looked at Emile Wharfe and Quentin Blake, particularly how he used a light box and the techniques he used. I loved illustrating throughout my A-Level’s and foundation, and it took me a while to get back into it but I definitely have missed it. It will be interesting to see how they fit in with my final photo book, as I’m not too sure on them, but I’m excited to experiment.

Scan 59 Scan 58

Another experiment that I have been trying out is the use of a diary extract. Every time I walked I would write a couple of notes on the train home of the terrain that I have encountered, the emotions I went through and the places that I saw. But I feel like they are too loose and I wanted something that really summed up my whole work. So I wrote a small paragraph on how I specifically feel about walking and myself, and I think it works really well. I really want it to work within my book as I think it will be a necessary tool to create that personal feel that I am trying to achieve.

IMG_5317

Leave a Reply

