Twitter// Headshots// Business Cards // Instagram

201MC Professional Experience

These are little things that I have been meaning to do for a while now, but its come to the part in my work and my portfolio where I really need them. Here’s a how I did them and why in a little bit more detail.

Twitter

I’m not a fan of social media; in fact I pretty much hate it! I’ve gone all first year without getting it, which was a task, but now I’ve realised that I really need it. Firstly for my exhibition, ‘Trace’, which needs not only as much promotion as it can get, but also a way of the exhibition promoting me. When researching into my favourite photographers and writers, they all have at least twitter and there website. It’s a good way of connecting with people and sharing thoughts. I was also recommended it by Hashtag photography, which said it was the best way for them to promote my writing and me. So I’ve finally given it and got it, and actually its not as bad as I thought it would be! It’s given me a lot of confidence, as it’s a place that I can have shared some really current photographic debates and shares my own work. I even have followers such as John-Paul Stonard, Ikon gallery and Epilogue, without me following them first, which means my work is been shared by the right people and this is a real confidence booster and it makes my motivation go through the roof! It’s one of the best pieces of advice I’ve been given and it’s a positive thing to have.

If you’d like to check out my Twitter:

@ParkersPhotog

 

Headshots

This was something I had been meaning to do for a while, but with our exhibition looming it became a necessity. I booked out the studio for two hours and began to take some self-portraits. I had been doing some prior research of artist’s headshots that I liked, and my ideas were to have something on a white background that was really casual and showed some personality to it, yet had a professional look to it too. During the shoot I chose two positions, both sat down and stood up. I also went through the images half way through and found that some of them were too serious, and that wasn’t my intentions, I wanted something approachable. After the shoot I then edited my favourite images, and I’m actually really happy with them. I’ve never taken headshots before, but now I have the confidence in this skill to do it again. I took a couple which will last me a few years of a range of images, different positions, different facial expressions and a range of seriousness, so that I can use different images for different purposes. I can also use these on my social media and website, so overall even though I’ve never done anything like this before, I’m really have with these!

Screen Shot 2016-04-26 at 11.22.15

Business Cards

Similar to the headshots, these were also something I had been meaning to do. However, I’ve never had the confidence or real need I suppose to make them, but with my exhibitions coming up this was a perfect excuse to make some. Again with my research I wanted something really similar, and not a card with a photograph on. Firstly because I couldn’t pick just one image to represent me as a photographer, and secondly because I don’t want to presented as just a photographer, I want to be shown as a writer too. Therefore, I went with this type font that I really loved and worked with that. I made these on a website, and I’ve never had business cards before, so this was a completely new skill to learn for me. When I got them back I was happy but I noticed that everything appeared smaller than I thought it would be, something to keep in mind. I was really happy with everyone’s reaction to them, particularly at my exhibition as they stood out, especially being black and white, from everyone else’s. I now know that I can create business cards and promote myself in the professional and personal manner that I want too. I also have these now so if I run into anyone or have an exhibition or event I can have them there too, which is so ideal.

Instagram

As I said about the Twitter situation, I’m not a fan of social media. However, it’s appearing to me that have both a twitter and Instagram account is a real positive. Therefore I went an made an account, using all the details I have on my website and Twitter so that everything has the same information and style. This will be slightly different to my other account because it will be most my work, so I’m taking inspiration from some of my favourite Instagramers so that I can keep this professional feel and not just post for the sake of it. It was also nice to have the same username as my others so that I can make it easier for anyone who wants to check me out. I’m happy with how everything’s turning out and now I have these different places and ways of promotion, I’m beginning to feel like a professional and that I deserve to have my work shared and liked!

Feel free to check out my Instagram:

@ParkersPhotog

Emailing

I have also been doing some research into other publishers, photobooks and magazines. My tutor suggested that this would be a really good plan to help me expand who I write for (16.03.16). For this I wanted to get away from our university and find places like Foyles were the best place to get a range of contacts. I have noted some of my favourite magazines, introduced myself to new ones and gained their emails. Now that I have an only portfolio, I feel much more confident to approach these people, some of which include Square Magazine, Antler Press and Mack. In my email I don’t state that I specifically looking to write for them, but I amply it as well as ask for some advice and comments on my writing. The confidence I have gained from social media on my articles has really helped me, and it’s made me see I definitely really want to pursue this as a future career.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a Reply

