Phonar// Assignment Four// Mini tasks

Phonar

This module is going so fast, its scary. But I absolutely love it (much to my surprise).

Tim Walker- ‘Its All About Love’

Creating images all surrounding love. For this I was torn between two things, Ted or cake. I thought about viewpoint in these by using a close-up of Ted, making sure he had a full body portrait so that he came across as a human. I tried to be close up to him so that the viewer could see how worn and loved he truly is. I’m not sure about the purple background but this was all I had that was large enough to show his whole body. I feel like it shows my love for him and its also quite humorous, the fact we’re both twenty-one and he’s in pirate pyjamas and a Christmas jumper which holds his head onto his body.

The second was tricky to capture for me. I wanted to include myself in the image to show my love for the objects. Having been recently inspired by James Ostrer and how he showed the obesity and fat levels in food with humans, I wanted to go the opposite way. To me little tea cakes make me feel happy and glamorous, yes I sound like I should be on fat camp, but treating myself to afternoon tea with my mum or buying a cake from Selfridges is pure pleasure to me. I’ve tried to use my arm to lead the eye to the cake, I think it gives it an extra layer rather than the cakes sat flat on a background. However, i’m noIt could be a potential future project for me by moving onto other parts of the body.

Viewpoints are extremely important, mainly because its how a photographer physically directs their viewer to look at what they are waiting them to look at. You need to think about how much detailing you want to show (for example close ups of portraits), the angle (e.g. extenuating a buildings length by going closer to the ground) and the way you lead the viewer through the image.

 

Lucas Foglia- ‘Make it seem…’

This was actually a lot harder than I thought it would be. I feel like Foglia chose hard subjects that you would initially think would be easy. It’s not my favourite task, yet I do like one or two of my images, and I think working out of my comfort zone in this quick manner really does help me.

This first image shows my friend next to a window. I was talking to him and noticed the shadows from the blinds, which I later extenuated by using a lamp behind the blind to emphasise it even more. One thing that I don’t think works is the laugh, he was genuinely laughing, but I feel like now it looks fake, so maybe working with an object would have been more successful. I used a higher contrast of lighting to give him shadows and a low saturation to emphasises the look of “sadness”.

The second image is our garden gnome that lost his head during a house party. I thought about viewpoint by placing him on a higher statue and making sure the sun was behind him, hence the ray of light. I was inspired by the image where there is a ray of light in the garden shining on the dog. I used a high saturation to emphasise his bright colours and I then edited the definition so you could see all of his lines.

The third image shows a penguin expedition that I found fascinating. I went down to the basement where it’s completely dark and used a lamp with a cone on it to create a spotlight directly on the penguin. Although the spotlight wasn’t as crisp as I would have liked I still think it works well. I also used a close up front portrait of the object to show it directly.

The fourth image is comb, which I tried to make look shocking. To me shocking is something scary and abnormal, so I spent a while experimenting with a bright background, my comb and a lamp. I really like the reflection of shadows; it looks like the inside of a monsters mouth. I can also image movement when I look at the image. I used a really close up viewpoint to hide what it actually is. I think this is perhaps my most successful image.

Lighting is important because it’s used to show how the emotions that the photographer wants the viewer to feel. Stronger shadows show something serious, softer lighting shows more a happier approach. Colours are important, blues and greys show unhappiness and orangery tones shows a more caring and graceful approach.

Susan Meiselas- ‘Alphabetography’

This was a really simple task of receiving a letter and then going outside and photographing the letter. The only restrictions are that the letter must have already been there, and you had to think about lighting and viewpoint. I got the letter V which I thought would be easy, but thinking about it its actually a hard letter because it will always be connected to something else, so I had to think about taking a closer up viewpoint.

I’m happy with my images, I mainly used shadows because I found them interesting but I also captured rays of light. It made me look closer at what’s in front of me and how I can use viewpoint and lighting to strengthen my letter so that my viewer would know what it is.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

